My Top 10 of 2013 and a thought experiment

Here are my Top 10 albums of 2013 (in no particular order) complete with a key track from said album, and a lyric that goes with the song.  After putting the list together and spending some time reflecting on it, I began to wonder why I like specific songs at all.  Think about THAT for a second:  WHY do you like songs?

*mind blown*

What are the specific reasons?   Have you ever sat down and answered that question in an intelligent fashion for yourself?

I learned that I like to live vicariously through the character presenting the lyrics.  When a specific lyric resonates strongly with me: I tend to like the song.  Every key lyric listed below is presented in the first person, so I figure I subconsciously imagine myself as the character in the song.  I also discovered that strong musical arrangements during a songs bridge tend to catch my ear.

It’s a fun exercise to sit down and list your favourite albums/songs of the year: it’s even more revealing to think about why you like the records you like.  The best part is: there’s no wrong answer! Think about and verbalize the answer.  You might surprise yourself.

1.Arctic Monkeys – AM

Key track: One for the Road – “We all go back to yours and you sit and talk to me on the floor.  There’s no need to show me around, Baby. I feel like I’ve been here before.”

2.Capital Cities – In a Tidal Wave of Mystery

Key track: Kangaroo Court – The Saxophone Solo on this track is an instant party.

3.Half Moon Run – Dark Eyes

Key track: Nerve – “I just don’t know what you’re doing wrong.  Man, you got a lot of nerve.”

4.Kings of Leon – Mechanical Bull

Key track: Wait For Me – The bridge.  Talk about a power piece of music.  Says so much by saying literally nothing.

5.Lorde – Pure Heroine

 Key Track: Team – “I’m kinda over gettin’ told to throw my hands up in the air: so there”

6.Chvrches – The Bones Of What You Believe

Key Track: Gun – “I’ll be a gun and it’s you I’ll come for”

7. The Neighbourhood – I Love You

Key Track: Sweater Weather  – “I don’t mind if there’s not much to say.  Sometimes the silence guides our minds.”

8. Queens of The Stone Age – …Like Clockwork

Key Track: I Sat By The Ocean – “I sat by the ocean and drank a potion, baby to erase you.”

9. Kanye – Yeezuz

Key track: Bound 2 – “I mean damn, what would Jaromey Romey Romey Rome think?”

10. Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob

Key Track: Now I’m All Messed Up – “Go, Go, Go if you want I can’t stop you.”

Leave a Reply

