10 Days of Hot Yoga

That’s the challenge.  10 days of Hot Yoga.  No backing out, no calling in sick, no excuses.  EVERYBODY seems to be doing it; so why aren’t I?  And before you spend your own time and money, live through my experience.  I promise to blog about if for the better part of 2 weeks.

Yoga is not a complete mystery to me.  Over a decade ago I signed up for a 10 week schedule that included one class a week.  It was Wednesday nights.  At the time I was playing squash or basketball 4 or 5 times a week, and I only agreed to do it because I was lucky enough to be dating this beautiful girl who wanted to do it as a couple.  I didn’t need the exercise, and I assumed there would be none.

Initially, I thought it was going to be stretching while listening to Enya.  Perhaps we’d talk about our feelings or bust out a push-up or two.  Easy-Peasy.  Turns out, yoga is hard.  It was the hardest 60 minutes of my week, yet also the most rewarding.  After the class was over, we’d all lay on our mats with little bean bags over our eyes by candle-light and just chill-it-out.  The bean bags smelled like eucalyptus.  Those 5 or so minutes are-to this day-some of the most relaxing moments of my life.  It’s time to get back on the yoga horse.  The question is: which pony do I choose?

Initially, I wasn’t sure what kind of yoga to practice.  The hot yoga world (as far as I can tell) is divided into Bikram’s and Moksha.  Bikram’s is Darth Vader, and Moksha is Luke Skywalker.  This is an accurate metaphor according to my research because the Moksha guy used to practice under the Bikram dude.  Because I like to sweat, don’t mind the heat, like bkack capes, and am looking for a challenge, I’ve chosen the red lightsaber.  Plus, there’s plenty of free parking at the Bikram studio by my place.  What can I say?  Free parking is the dark side’s ultimate attraction.

My initial research scared me.  The website says I should prepare for my first class by “Drink(ing) lots of water for several days if you’re not in the habit of drinking water.”  I have prepared for my first class (in 9hours from right now) by drinking 2 draft beers at the Druid; which is nothing compared to the 40 oz. of hard alcohol I have consumed between Friday and Saturday night.  Also to prepare, I have placed myself (apparently) in the direct path of cancer.

I went to Winners to buy a yoga mat.  By the way, and slightly off topic, every time I go to Winners, I end up jocking for position in the menswear section with middle-aged women.  Guys, do me a favor and shop for your own clothes.  It wasn’t until I had already stood in line for 10 minutes when I discovered why the particular yoga mat I was about to purchase was likely relegated to a discount box store.  The warning tag reads “this product may contain chemicals known to the state of California to cause cancer.”  Awesome.  I bought it anyway.

Time to rest up.  First class is tomorrow.

 

 

 

2 responses to “10 Days of Hot Yoga

  1. The very next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this particular one.
    After all, I know it was my choice to read, nonetheless I actually thought you would have something helpful to
    talk about. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could possibly
    fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

    • Sorry you didn’t like the post. You’ll likely not enjoy any of the others (past or future) because my intention isn’t to educate; I’m writing to entertain.

Leave a Reply

