Concord Grape Jelly

How many different items are there in the average grocery store?  5,000?  15,000?  Imagine the task of counting every brand of cracker and each type of canned bean.  When you really think about it, I’d wager that more often than not, you leave the grocery store without buying something new.  We’re creatures of habit; I’m a creature of habit.  Yesterday it was time to try something new, and that something was Concord Grape Jelly.

I’m a raspberry jam man.  It it ain’t raspberry, your in for a tough sell.  Blueberry, strawberry, marmalade, blackberry, bla, bla, bla.  They’ve never blown my hair back.  Raspberry is the right amount of sweet, mixed with the correct level of “zing” in the realm of flavor.   Some say the seeds destroy the experience.  I’ve never had that problem.  Until yesterday, I had never had Concord Grape Jelly.  But I’m a new man now, trying something new everyday.

Unlike the slightly runny consistency of my favorite raspberry jam (Kraft) the grape jelly was more firm and chunky.  As far as taste goes, it’s less explosive then I was hoping.  I wouldn’t call it bland, but it was definitely a pat on the back compared to the raspberry bear hug.  I like my food to pack more of a flavor punch.  I felt like yelling at the jelly, “come on!  Do it like you care!” Maybe that’s why old(er) people like Jelly; it’s a passive preservative.

I tried the jelly…but I can’t say I’d do it again.

 

One response to “Concord Grape Jelly

  1. Pingback: I make mistakes just like everybody else « The Morning After

Leave a Reply

