Round 180. Tofu is delicious.

I’m  a “meat eater.”  I like steaks, burgers, ribs, wings, chops, etc.  At the same time, I’m a man who appreciates veggies (and some fruit) and I want to save the earth.  More on the connection between meat and the earth later.

Until about 2 months ago, I had never really eaten tofu.  I had believed he “hype”: it was for “hippies”, it tasted like dirt, it’s not filling, etc.  I’d like to track down each and every person who spewed these falsehoods all over me for a man-to-man “close talk” where I whisper something cool to them like, “you ever lie to me again about how good a food product tastes and I’ll haunt your mamm’s mamma’s dreams.” (can you tell I saw “Inception” on Friday?)

Tofu is delicious.  Especially Soyganic Smoked Tofu:

You’re a big girl (or boy) — you know not to listen to others about what food tastes  “bad” before you actually try it.

I don’t have the exact details in front of me but in the “Green Guide” David Suzuki talks about the impact eating meat has on our environment.  Not “eating it”, rather “raising it” to be eaten would be more accurate.  Mr. Suzuki figures that if all of us went one day without eating meat, we’d be doing Mother Nature a big favor.  You might be thinking:  “do her a favor by skipping meat once a week?  I’ll do you one better Sawchuk, I’ll stop eating meat all together!”

I can’t lie:  I had the exact same thought.  Fact is, a major part of the industry in Canada depends on beef, lamb, chicken, and pork.  Thousands of families depend on us eating bacon at breakfast or steaks at supper.  I’m not saying “cut out” meat, but perhaps try “cutting down.”

On Friday I decided to eat a salad for lunch.  I’m 6’1 and about 200 pounds.  When I eat just salad for lunch, I need to eat a lot of salad:

I had 4 tupperware dishes on the bike Friday at 4:00 am, so I could construct this delicious creation at noon:

1.  Romane lettuce

2. Chopped cucumber, raw beets, red and green peppers, and carrots.

3. Cubed smoked tofu

4.  Salad dressing

Every bite was a road trip to flavortown.

Dave: 173

Global Warming: 2

Modern Living: 5

2 responses to “Round 180. Tofu is delicious.

  1. Pingback: Bartender: Old Fashioned « The Morning After

  2. That salad was so epic! It looked amazing.

Leave a Reply

