Rounds 165 and 166…Damn it, Modern Living!

I had to drive to work yesterday, not because I wanted to, but because I had to.  I’m awarding the point to “modern living” because it wasn’t because I got lazy, it was because I HAD to be  in Sooke at 3:00 pm and I had an appointment downtown just after noon.  Today’s round: goes to me.  It’s not exactally a tight race for first, but the it looks like global warming and modern living will jockey for the silver medal right down to the wire in mid September.

Change Jar Update:

At first, I thought there might be as much as $400 of $500 in there by September, but now I’m not so sure.  A guy at work just cashed in his change jar and took home $400.  It took him over 3 years to collect that much.  I better set my sights on a more realistic number like: $150.

I have heard from a lot of other cyclists about the dangers of getting “car doored”.  It’s when a motorists opens their door right into you as you ride by.  I don’t need to be told in too much detail how bad that would suck.  Today, it nearly happened to me.  Right in front of James Bay Coffee, a young lady opened the bright red door of her older model honda right into my path.  I was able to swerve just enough so that the door frame narrowly missed the handlebars on my bike.

Dave: 161

Global Warming: 2

Modern Living: 3

Leave a Reply

