Rounds 137, 138 and 139

I’m gonna be honest here, I’ve worked 3 different shifts in the past 5 days, (or is it 4 different shifts in 5 days?) with a day off mixed in.  I’m only guessing at the total number of rounds here…but I do know I’ve cycled to work everyday possible.  Thursday and Friday were the toughest, but the same time, the most rewarding.

When your alarm goes off at 3:30 am, all you want to do is nothing.  Which is exactly the opposite of what needs to be done.  By the time I get up, start the coffee, and walk the dogs, 3:300 am feels just like 6:30 am.  Only it’s darker and quieter.  After a quick shower, I pack up my change of clothes, lunch, and anything else I might need for work onto my bike.

The downtown streets are dead that early in the morning.  The only people you see are either a) using high-powered leaf blowers to clear the sidewalks of trash b) using pressure washers to blast gunk off the sidewalks.  By the time I get to work, ,my early morning rage has worn off, and I feel great!

I’m back to a regular schedule tomorrow and bike to work week starts one week from today!  Have you got your team together?

A few people around work are concerned about not having a suitable bike  (or a bike at all) to ride next week.  If your in the same boat, don’t panic.  I understand there are lots of local bike shops offering great deals on rentals for the week to get as may people as possible involved.  If you live on the West Shore and work downtown, instead of riding all the way in, take a bus.  City transit has buss’s that can take bikes!  Get close, then cycle the rest of the way.

Dave: 135

Global Warming: 2

Modern Living: 2

One response to “Rounds 137, 138 and 139

  1. can’t wait for next week!

Leave a Reply

