Round 132 “Modern Living” scores a point!

I am sad to say that Modern Loving scored a point today.  I had a 9 am appointment near the inner harbor this morning, so I walked to that, then took a cab to work.  I had to dress up for my meeting, and didn’t want to go through the hassle of changing, then changing again.  It was a moment of weakness and I’ll award a point, where a point is due.  Yesterday was quite the adventure that nearly ended with me burning down the house.  Literally.

I’m in the habit of saving all the bits and pieces of left over raw vegetables from the kitchen in giant ziplock bags in my freezer.  When I get 3 or 4 full bags, I make soup stock.  It’s really easy.  Put the frozen veggies in a big stock pot, cover with water and lightly boil for hours and hours, strain off the boiled veggie chunks, then reduce the liquid to 2 or 3 liters, and you’ve got the best tasting soup stock EVER.  I got a little off topic there…back to the near fire disaster.  Wednesday morning I strained all the veggie chunks out of the stock, and started to reduce the remaining liquid.  I left it on the stove when I went to work.  BAD IDEA.  I knew it was a bad idea when I did it, but I figured I’d be back at lunch, and how much can 8 liters of stock reduce in 4 hours anyway?  It wasn’t even boiling!  It was just “steaming”

At lunch, I forget to come home.

After work, I race home to my place full of smoke!  The stock reduced then charred on the bottom of my pot!  Gross!  I quickly yanked the pot off the stove and opened all the windows.  I dodged a bullet there.  In my infinate wisdom, I decided to scrape out the charred black stuff in the pot, and flush it down the toilet.  BAD IDEA.

Yesterday the toiled plugs.

No problem I figure,  I’ll just get up extra early, drop in at work to borrow a plunger and fix the problem.  At 6:30 am I buzz into work: no plunger.  I check 7-11, Mac’s and my corner store…no plungers.  At that point I’m thinking it would have been easier to score some crack.  In an act of desperation, I stroll into the James Bay Esso, “Man, you’d never guess how hard it is to find a plunger at 7:30 am…can I borrow yours?”  Honestly, that’s basically what I said.  To my surprise, the gas attendant borrows me the plunger.  I go home and plunge with all my heart: no dice.

It’s now 7:50 am, Lindsay has not been able to use the washroom before work (she is not happy) I haven’t showered, I have an appointment at 9:00 am….and I’m MAD!   I’m a stubborn guy and don’t want to quit,  I go to Thrifty’s at 8:00 am, buy a plunger and a bottle of liquid plumber.

I go home, dump the liquid plumber in the toilet and fill my biggest pot (second biggest if you count the one I destroyed the previous day) with hot water and put it on the stove to heat up the water even more.  I shower, get dressed then dump the near-boiling water into the toilet, cross my fingers and flush.  No go.  I throw my hands up and leave the house.  I walk to my appointment while texting Lindsay that I could not fix the toilet.  I am sad.  She agrees to call the landlord at noon and arrange for a fix.  Not good.

As luck would have it, the liquid plumber must have got it’s hooks into the charred soup gunk, because when Lindsay got home at noon the toilet would flush!  Hooorayyyy!!

Dave: 128

Global Warming: 2

Modern Living: 2

Leave a Reply

