Killer Kebabs

Everybody loves BBQ Kebabs.  If you don’t, stop reading now.  Instead read about some scary stuff regarding how we eat at jeremybaker.ca

Back to the Kebabs: they’re easy to prepare, inexpensive, and fun to eat.  Here’s a fool proof recipe for my “Killer Kebabs”  Keep in mind, these baby’s are spicy!

You’ll Need:

1. Beef.  The cut is up to you.  I’ll often by strips of beef if I’m on a budget, or a few steaks to cut into cubes if I’m feeling like a high roller.  In this case, because we’re using a marinade, I say go cheep.  I used beef brisket strips, and it cost be less than $5.

2.  Peppers.  Red, yellow and, orange.  If you’ve got green, then cool.  Use what you’ve got.  Throw on some cherry tomato’s if you’ve got ’em, mushrooms can be nice, too.

3.  Kebab sticks.  I don’t own the fancy metal ones.  I buy the wood sticks because I hate trees.  (not true, I love trees..I should buy metal ones)   Remember to let the sticks soak in water for as long as you can.  Overnight is best.  I added a dehydrated lime leaf, because I had it laying around.

4.  Ingredients for marinade:

a) 1/2 cup vegetable oil

b)1/3 cup soy sauce

c) 2 table spoons of:  prepared mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce.  As far as hot sauce goes, I’ve tried ’em all.  The best for flavor and heat is Ebesse Zozo Hot Sauce.

d) 1 clove of garlic

e) Pepper/Salt to taste.

Let’s Do This!!!

-Cut your beef into 1 inch cubes, mix up your marinade ingredients, and combine the 2 in holy matrimony.  Let that sit in the fridge as long as Brittney Spears first marriage if you can, or all day at the least.

– Cut your peppers into size-able chunks.  Cut them too small, and they could split while on the BBQ.  Remember, they’re going to shrink as they cook.

-Start “sticking” your kebabs, alternate between meat and peppers.  For a less meaty mixture, go 2:1 veggies to meat…then fire them on a clean, HOT BBQ grill.  If you like, spray the grill down with PAM before hand.

Here’s what mine looked like:

kebabs

Personally, I like my meat right around medium, and my vegetables Al dente so the cooking time is relatively quick.  The Key:  put the kebabs on a piping hot grill, turn them once with the lid open, then turn the heat down to low, and let them finish with the lid closed.  I cooked these for about 12 minutes…and this is how they came out:

kebabs done

Things to remember:

1. NEVER use the marinade sauce to baste the kebabs, or any other food for that matter, in any other recipe.  It’s a health hazard (especially with chicken) or maybe it’s ONLY with chicken?  I can’t remember now.  Look it up yourself, but I do know it can be dangerous.  Instead, I brushed these babies with a combination of:  melted butter, olive oil, and pressed garlic just minutes before taking them off the BBQ.

2.  Let your Kebabs rest (covered with foil) for a few minutes before you serve them.

To complement this dish, I put together a salad of mixed greens, carrot, celery, green onion, roma tomato, and feta cheese, topped with Italian dressing…delicious.

SA400016

Got a “Killer Kebab” recipe yourself?  Fire it off to me, I’d love to give it a try.

3 responses to “Killer Kebabs

  1. I love the kebab serving dish!

  2. Can we set up a BBQ in the parking lot and let you go nuts? Dang those look great Sawchuck!

  3. those look gooooooooooooood!

Leave a Reply

