See my iPod, and judge me. I don’t mind.

I am training to run a marathon.

I’m telling you this, because it gives context for the rest of the blog, not because I’m trying to impress you.

If I wanted to impress you, I’d make up something better than a statement that essentially boils down to:  “I like to put one foot in front of the other, at a rapid pace, for prolonged periods of time,  several days a week.  For these efforts, my rewards are sore calves, and feet.  Impressed?”  I didn’t think so.

The point is, every time I go out for a run, I put together a play list to keep me going.  Here’s the play list from this mornings jaunt, feel free to read it over and judge.

1.  Our Lady Peace – Julia

I had an interview with Jeremy Taggart of the band today and felt that listening to this song would some how replace the hours and hours of research that much more professional dj’s normally do to prepare themselves.

2. The Gaslight Anthem – Old White Lincoln

I don’t really like “cars” they don’t “blow my hair back”.  A car gets me from A to B.  The age, brand, bla, bla doesn’t matter.   But this song makes me care, which is impressive.

3.  The Waking Eyes – Clap Clap

The bands record label made a BIG mistake by not making this a single.  Also “Holding on to Whatever it is” is a very underrated Canadian album.

4.  The Killers – Losing Touch.

I wonder who Brandon Flowers is singing the lyrics of this song to?  Isn’t he married?  Or maybe it’s about a former band mate?  Music is 2.5 out of 5, lyrics are 5 out of 5.

5.  Theory of a Deadman – No Surprise

Remember:  I’m running a marathon.  There needs to be mindless rock to keep you going.  Running for long periods of time isn’t easy…and at any moment…you can just…STOP.  Literally, just stop running.  You gotta mix in some jams to keep you mindlessly motivated.

6. Coldplay – Violet Hill

I put this one in because I wondered why we no longer play it on the Zone much anymore.  Now I know why:  it’s half as good as Viva La Vida, and Lost!

7.  Danko Jones – We Sweat Blood

This one is about kickin ass 24/7.  Check it out, and add it to your “gym playlist”  your welcome.

8.  Beastie Boys – Sabotage

I use to really like this song.  What happened?  Have I matured past the Beastie Boys?  God, I hope not.

9.  Vince Vaccaro – Animals

Dave S –  “Vince, I love ‘Animals’ off the new record, it’s such a good song”

Vince – “That song was inspired by a lying, cheating whore.  But it’s still a good song”

True story.  That conversation happened a few weeks back.

10. The Parlor Mob – Hard Times

Lyric:  “Clappin’ our hands when we’re out on the weekend, stompin’ our feet with the people we believe in”   THAT is a rock and roll lyric.

11. The Dudes – Don’t Talk

Dan Vacon of the Dudes writes the best lyrics EVER.  This song is about 1 of 2 things:  erectile dysfunction, or a girl who talks to much when it’s time to gear down and get busy.  I hope it’s the second one.

12. Guns & Roses – Chinese Democracy

I put this song in because I fear I “wrote it off” too early.  I did not.  It sucks.  I only listened to 25 seconds, before I skipped to the next track.

13. Buck 65 – Wicked and Weird

I like Buck 65 for all the same reasons everybody else does, but I love him because in most of his songs, he makes a baseball reference.  Home-run.

14. The Tragically Hip – Twist My Arm

When this one came on, I focused on the delicate ways the lead and rhythm guitars intertwine throughout the song.  Magnificent.

15. Stabilo – One More Pill

There was a time when I’d listen to this in my 1996 VW Golf, singing along at the top of my lungs as I drove home to Athabasca Alberta, from Grande Prairie.  Who was I then?  I made a mistake putting this song on the playlist.  But I listened to the whole song, which is more than I did for GNR.

16. Audioslave – Out of Exile

I was this kid in my head when the song came on…the only difference:  my video was a 1 camera shoot.

17. Queens of the Stone Age – Little Sister.

Wood Block” is the new “Cowbell”

18. Franz Ferdinand – Take me Out

In addition to writing catchy Modern Rock songs, they’re snappy dressers.  Not that I’m a fashion snob or anything, but it weirds me out when bands look like they dressed in the dark…drunk

19. Carolina Liar – Show Me What I’m Looking For

I love the choir in this one, it’s like Coldplay meets The Black Crow’s.

20. Stone Temple Pilots – Unglued

Back when Scott was on a “safe and controllable” about of heroin.

21. James Brown – The Payback

Boy meets girl.  Boy sleeps with girl.  Boy made a big mistake, that was James Brown’s girl.  If this song is at all based on real events, that “boy” is long since dead.

22. Phoenix – Lisztomania

It is New Music Monday here at The Zone, so I thought I’d fire up some Phoenix on the trails.  It did not disappoint.

23. Ryan Adams – 1974

“I’m not saying Ryan Adams is the greatest North American song writer since Niel Young, but I’m not saying he isn’t either” – Stephen King

That quote has nothing to do with how I feel about Ryan Adams, but it’s a pretty good compliment.  In 2003 Ryan Adams was bit by a radioactive rock and roll spider, and recorded “Rock and Roll” his best work (in my opinion) and 1974 is the best on the album.

24. Band of Skulls – I Know What I Am

If you don’t love this song with all of your heart, I will want to cry.  It’s so good, learn to love it.

25. Deep Fine Grind – Words

DFG is (or maybe ‘was’ is a better description) a band out of Edmonton.  I meet them years ago, and became a fan.  This song makes me want to set fire to a neighborhood.  (which I would never do, ever)

26.  I Mother Earth – Choke

Don’t laugh.  This is another track designed for running.  Musically, it’s a heavy hitter.  Lyrically, it subtly  encourages you not to stop running, or you’ll be a quitter.  And quitters aren’t cool.

27.  Phoenix – 1901

I’ve been in love with this song for weeks, maybe months by now.  By the time if came on, I had been running for about 100 minutes…so I can’t remember how I felt about it at the time…but I do remember being thirsty.  As it was finishing, I was pounding back a liter of gatorade.

Half the fun of these long runs is putting together the playlist.  I’m already working on next weeks:

track 1:  The Dead Weather – Treat Me Like Your Mother

That song is diabolically venomous

4 responses to “See my iPod, and judge me. I don’t mind.

  1. morningaftershow

    “diabolically venomous”

    fucking awesome. great list Dave!

  2. Hiya, i work with the Band Of Skulls lot and would love to hear some feedback from fans about what they think about the single.
    Also click here on friday to listen to Band Of Skulls performing an audio session on KCRW radio – http://bit.ly/Icp15
    They are also due for a myspace video exclusive very soon so keep your eyes peeled!

    • The single is incredible. Musically it “chugs” like a southern classic. Lyrically, it’s infections and catchy as hell. An original gem in a musical field of dust.

  3. Rick SexyMF Payne

    Dude… I was read this a while back and made a Dave Tunes playlist on the pod… After a few weeks of this (and some minor additions/deletions*) I can confirm is the the bees knees… and balls. The Payback is the biggest song to crack my all-time favs list in a long time. I wanna go Eff someone up when I hear that. UNglued… solid. Makes me wanna score some horse and buy some leathers pants. And 1974… Also my debut year. Great tune. Same with Band of Skulls. Outstanding.

    And back to the Godfather Of Soul, if you haven`t you gotta see this… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPfLF2_BSRg

    Anyway, well done and I look forward to the next one.

    *Sorry Axl. 10 years for that… Wtf

Leave a Reply

