How to buy a toothbrush

I went to the dentist today, and got a clean bill of health (mostly), I have a small cavity that needs attention, and I might need a tooth crowned…but enough about me…let’s talk about YOU.

I learned something important about toothbrushes today. If you don’t want to know what it is, stop reading now, and learn more about Puscifer at www.jeremybaker.ca

Here we go:

Always use a soft bristled toothbrush. Always. Medium and Hard bristled toothbrushes are actually bad for your teeth/gums/karma. So I asked my dental hygienist, “WHY do they sell these evil tooth brushes if they are in fact bad?” Before she answered I thought to myself…”wait a tick, they sell smokes, booze and Britney Spears cd’s, and those are bad for me. What’s to stop capitalism from selling me another item that is bad for my health?” Then the debate began in my head (Dave vs. Inner-Dave)  “You see, Dave…when you buy smokes and/or booze, you KNOW they’re bad for you (and for the record there should be some sort of warning on Britney Spears cd’s) “Good point” I thought to my inner-self. “Let’s compromise” I decided, “sell the Hard bristle toothbrushes, but a Surgeon General’s warning must be printed on the box” I agreed (with myself)

Then she spoke:

“Because” she said, “people THINK they’re getting their teeth cleaner by pushing harder, and scrubbing more aggressively” Word to the wise, harder is not always smarter. You wouldn’t use a wire brush to “clean” the surface of your car would you? Make it a happy ending in your mouth, get a soft bristle toothbrush.

Leave a Reply

